Where to go, few days in May/June

2 years 2 months ago - 2 years 2 months ago #3751 by zuppi
Hi,
I'm new in this forum, have serached but not found the answer I'm looking for:

I'm a keen Wildlife photographer (sounds good ;) in fact I'm an amateur). I have the opportunity to visit Thailand (Bankok) on Business sometimes in late May or June. I plan to add a few (3-4) days. My question is, what could I do in this time? And where would I go? I'm not familiar with Thailand so it should not involve too much travelling around, organisation, etc. Or is this maybe not a good idea?

Thanks & Regards Daniel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 2 months ago #3752 by onflipflops
Parks like Khao Yai and Kaeng krachan are within short distance (for Thai standards... about 3 hrs drive).
And these are some of the best parks in the country for wildlife watching. Though, if you go by yourself and have no experience in the jungle, it could still be a challenge to find the animals.
The following user(s) said Thank You: zuppi

More
2 years 2 months ago #3753 by zuppi
Thank you for the quick reply. SO what would be the best way to make the most? Are there tour operators? If possible I would like to avoid having to hire a car. Are these Parks good for this time of the year, or does that not matter?
Sorry for the 'stupid' questions :oops:

More
2 years 1 month ago #3755 by onflipflops
These are not stupid questions.
The best way to go is with an experienced guide, but maybe I am prejudiced ;-)
For general wildlife tours, you will find most offers for Khao Yai.
Simply google 'Khao Yai tours' and you will find various options.
For Kaeng Krachan there are not much offers apart from bird watching trips.

About time of year, May-June should be fine. For mammals I don't see much difference throughout the year. Birdlife varies depending on migration and nesting season. But this period should be OK for birdlife. And for reptiles too.